TechFast Winners

TechFast Winners
This is the image for the news article titled TechFast Winners40 Garrett High School students participated in North East Indiana TechFest this year competing against students from over 20 regional schools. TechFest is a community event for high school students, sponsored in a cooperative effort by the Northeastern Indiana Technology Coalition and local industry partners. The goal of TechFest is to promote Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics curriculum (S.T.E.M.) to demonstrate their place in local organizations and their respective fields. 

Participants had the opportunity to compete in 7 STEM based events that challenge participants to think outside of the box while working collaboratively towards a unified outcome. The teams had to plan, build, and test various ideas within the constraints of a given event using Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics (S.T.E.M.) knowledge. Two of Garrett’s teams took home third place this year in their events, Coding and Engineering in a Box.

In addition to the 7 CUP events, TechFest is comprised of 5 MAP (Most Active Participants) events. The MAP events are individual events aimed towards personal development and include a College and Career Expo, where students can ask questions and gain an understanding of local STEM based industry and opportunities. Garrett’s team took home the MAP for the 4th year in a row this year!


Engineering in a Box team
: 3rd place (front)
Calvin Gardner, (back) Jordan Schmidt, Rachael Kilgore,
Grace Weller


Coding Team:
 3rd place (front) Nick Yoder,
(back) Noah Dapp, Creigh Dirksen

 All Participants:
Halie Andrews
Ella Baver
Haley Beck
Allissa Chisholm
Hannah Collingsworth
Kandyce Combs
Noah Dapp
Creigh Dirksen
Kaylee Fugate
Calvin Gardner
Haley Getts
Lauren Gonya
Kaya Helmkamp
Addi Hichman
Emma Hirchak
Rachael Kilgore
Isabel Kilgore
Lauren Kinney
Katie Lacey
Austin Lehner
Thomas Loeffler
Hallie McCoy
Joshua McDonald
Macy Newman
Sarah Rasnick
Blake Ratcliffe
Chloe Rayle
Kierra Richards
Kennedy Sattison
Jordan Schmidt
Anthony Semons
Dylan Smith
Logan Smith
Mikayla Taylor
Ariana Taylor
Madison VanDerbosch
Grace Weller
Brynn Wilhelm
Nicholas Yoder

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.